Texas Continuing Education Courses

Home / Continuing Education / Texas

Filter By
Select Your State
Education Type
Course Type

Texas Continuing Education Requirements:

Total Hours Mandatory Elective Hours
You Need: 18 8 10
We Offer: 18 8 10

Renewal Date: Every two years by the end of the month in which the license was initially issued

For licensees renewing before February 1, 2021:

Hours Required: 18 hours

  • 4 hours – Legal Update I: Laws, Rules and Forms
  • 4 hours – Legal Update II: Agency, Ethics, and Hot Topics
  • 10 hours – electives

For licensees renewing on or after February 1, 2021:

Hours Required: 18 hours

  • 4 hours – Legal Update I: Laws, Rules and Forms
  • 4 hours – Legal Update II: Agency, Ethics, and Hot Topics
  • 7 hours – Electives
  • 3 hours - Contracts Course (students who complete this course requirement prior to February 1, 2021 but who have a renewal date after February 1st will have their course reported as fulfilling the requirement)

Note: If you are a supervising agent you will need to complete the 6 hour broker responsibility course  as part of your required 18 hours of CE.

First Time Renewals for Sales License

Continuing Education Provider Number: 505

The CE Shop's Offering: 18 hours 

Reporting: Real estate course completions are reported to the state. The state requires schools to report course completions within seven to ten days from the course completion date. Course completions will be reported and posted within this time frame. 

Repeat Course in Back-to-Back Renewals: According to Texas Rule Chapter 535, Subchapter I, Section 535.92 (3h), credit will not be given for attendance of the same course more than once during the term of the current license or during the two‐year period preceding the filing of an application for late renewal or return to active status.

Expiration Date of Course: Course expiration dates vary by course but are generally one year after order date. Each individual course will have an expiration date listed in your account. 

Final Exams: Passing a final exam is not required to receive continuing education credit in Texas, therefore our system is set up so that final exams can be passed with a 0% passing score. 

Certificates: Immediately upon real estate course completion, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic copy of the course Certificate of Completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies at a later time. Please refer to your renewal application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate(s) of Completion with your renewal. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date on your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.

License Renewal Process: The process to renew in this state is to log in to the licensing system online and follow the prompts to renew. If TREC records do not reflect completion of CE requirements at the time you submit your renewal application, you must pay a $200 CE Deferral Fee, or renew in inactive status. Payment of the CE Deferral Fee allows you to remain active for an additional 60 days from your expiration date to complete CE requirements.

Still have questions? Visit our Frequently Asked Questions or Contact Us.

Texas Real Estate Commission

Street Address: Stephen F. Austin Building, 1700 N. Congress Ave., Suite 400, Austin, TX 78701

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 12188 Austin, TX 78711-2188

Telephone: 512.936.3000 

Fax: 512.936.3798

License Renewal Website

License Lookup Website

CE Transcript Website

Online Services Instructions

Fingerprint Requirements

Contact TREC

Contact TREC via Email