Texas Broker Pre-Licensing
How to Upgrade Your Texas Real Estate License
6 Steps Toward Getting Your Texas Broker License
Getting an upgraded license might seem a bit daunting, but we’re here to guide you through the process. Read on to learn the six steps you’ll need to take before upgrading your real estate license in Texas.
- You must be at least 18 years of age.
- You must be either a U.S. citizen or a lawfully admitted alien.
- You must be a resident of Texas unless you were licensed in Texas as a sales agent or broker within the last two years or are licensed as a broker in another state
Complete 270-hours of approved pre-licensing education.
Successfully complete 270 clock hours of approved Pre-Licensing Affiliate Broker courses. This includes the following six courses: Principles of Real Estate I, Principles of Real Estate II, Law of Agency, Law of Contracts, Promulgated Contract Forms, Real Estate Finance, Real Estate Brokerage.
The Real Estate Brokerage course must be completed not more than two years before the application date.
An additional 630 classroom hours in related qualifying courses acceptable to the Commission or approved Continuing Education courses are also required in the topics of Real Estate Appraisal, Real Estate Law, Real Estate Marketing, Real Estate Math, Property Management, Real Estate Investments, or Residential Inspections for Real Estate Agents. Courses taken for credit through a college or university may be accepted in the topics of accounting, advertising, business or management, construction, finance, investments, law, marketing, and real estate.
A bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited college or university satisfies all of the related education requirements for a broker license.
Pass the course final exams.
After you complete each course, there is a course final exam. The minimum passing score is 70%.
You must take each final in the presence of a proctor. You’ll need to schedule an appointment with a proctor in advance. Find out more about our online proctoring here.
Meet the Experience Requirements
To apply for a broker license, you must also meet the following experience requirements:
- Have at least four years of active experience as a licensed real estate agent or broker during the 60-month period preceding the filing of the application.
- Your experience must total 3600 points and be reported on the Qualifying Experience Report for Broker License. You must also include a transcation identification list for each transaction claimed on the experience report.
Complete your license application.
Once all education requirements are satisfied, you'll complete an official license application using TREC Online Services.
Next, you'll provide fingerprints to MorphoTrust for the purpose of a background check.
Pass the Texas Real Estate Broker Licensing Exam.
Once the exam application is approved, you will receive instructions for scheduling the exam and obtaining a copy of the Candidate Handbook. Pearson VUE administers the Texas Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Exam. This 145-question test is comprised of two portions, covering both state and national requirements. For more information, see the Pearson VUE Candidate Information Bulletin.
Engaging Content Created for You
There’s no reason you should be working on boring topics. Our LEAP platform provides the most engaging material to make studying fun and simple, helping further your success on your exam date and beyond.Take Our Course Tour »